Third Vote On Withdrawal Agreement

In line with the February 27 request, the defeat of the second significant vote means that the government must immediately submit a request for withdrawal from the European Union without a withdrawal agreement. The motion, which blocked a no-deal Brexit, was introduced on March 13. [94] [95] Two amendments to the amendment were put to the vote: the first, tabled by Caroline Spelman and categorically opposed to a no-deal in all circumstances, was adopted by 312 to 308; The second, the ”Malthouse compromise”, which supported what is called a ”Brexit managed no deal”, failed by 164 to 374. The amendment tabled by Oliver Letwin passed by a vote of 329 to 302 and required the House of Commons to hold a series of indicative votes on March 27. Three ministers resigned from the government to support the amendment: Richard Harrington (Economy Minister), Alistair Burt (Foreign Office) and Steve Brine (Health). The Beckett amendment, tabled by Margaret Beckett, was rejected by 314 to 311. He reportedly asked Parliament to vote in favour of a No Deal Brexit or to ask for an extension of Article 50 if the government had been deprived of an agreement within seven days of withdrawal from the European Union. The modified main request (Letwin, but not Beckett) was accepted by 327 to 300. On 20 December 2019, immediately after the opening of Parliament after the 2019 general elections in the United Kingdom (in which the Conservative Party won a large majority of 80 seats), the government presented another bill to ratify its draft withdrawal agreement. She also proposed another guillotine motion to limit debate on the bill.

Standing Order No. 24B states that ”where, according to the spokesman. A movement. Amendments should not be tabled on this subject. [68] Grieve`s amendment does not apply these Rules to any request made after the ”Useful Vote” section of the Act, which allows any request relating to the withdrawal procedure to be amended by Parliament. [2] The inclusion of the agreement in the House of Commons ranged from cold to hostile and the vote was delayed by more than a month. Prime Minister May won a no-confidence motion against her own party, but the EU refused to accept further changes.